Whanganui Takes Title

The 6 year winning streak by Ohakune has finally been broken by Whanganui Squash Club over the weekend where they took out the Champion of Champions club title for most successful club.

 Whanganui hasn't won this title since 2004.  Whanganui with 3 Champions beat out Ohakune and Waitara with 2 a piece.  The event attracted around 76 odd entrants making it a 3 day event at the 3 court Inglewood complex.  There were some huge 5 setters in the final round especially in the C grade men and women and the B grade men's final.  The final Champions for 2019 are as follows:

Grade Men's Winner Women's Winner
A Allan Bailey (SquashGym) Not contested
B Matthew Ratcliffe (Whanganui) Ngakuira Osborne (Whanganui)
C Mark Langden (Kawaroa Park) Darnell Watling (Ohakune)
D Dane Kendall (Waitara) Emma Foreman (Waitara)
Samson Power (Whanganui) Mairi Whittle (Taihape)
F Sam Deadman (Ohakune) Gabrielle Bevins (Stratford)

These players will now go onto the National competition to represent Central in Ohakune on 18th - 20th October.  Best of luck to them all.  A big thank you to Pauline, Len and all their helpers at Inglewood for hosting this event so well.