Central Students Represent well at Secondary Schools

The 2021 New Zealand Secondary Schools were hosting by Devoy in Tauranga last week from 5th - 8th August and Central had several teams represent well, and 3 players named for the New Zealand Squads.

This National event  were 52 teams of Squash players  to represent their respective Colleges from across the country.  The national event showcases top level talented Junior Squash players from A Grade down through to J Grade.  Each team can be made up of 5-7 players, with 5 playing in each round.  


Hawera High School - Some familiar Central Squash Junior Rep players were in action, including Jackson Clement (front) and Reece Holmes (back, right) representing Hawera High School.  Both boys played well throughout the event with Jackson winning all five of his matches, which included a win against fellow Central player Cassius Leevey (FDMC), while Reece won four of his five matches, which also included a win against fellow Central player Bradley Hopkins (FDMC).  Unfortunately, for HHS, another Central player, Jack Hopkins, was able to secure the overall win for his FDMC team when he won his match against his HHS opponent.


Sacred Heart Girls College New Plymouth

On the girls side the SHGC NP team had to battle with 4 players but still managed to increase their seeding from 13th to 12th.  Well done to Arnika Watson, Abbie Holmes, Anna Stokes, Lucy Howarth and coach Ross Howarth.





Ruapehu College (Ohakune) Boys and Girls team

Outstanding results from a small college - Ruapehu College in Ohakune had both a Boys and Girls teams representing which is pretty awesome for a small mountain community.  The club has always had strong junior culture lead by John Laurenson. Boys went into the competition as 24th seeds, finished 17th and won the Plate.  Girls went it 11th and held their seeding.   

In picture of Boys and Girls L-R Back Row, Liam Burnard, Harry Rowe, Cameron Smith, Raynardt Botha, Sayge Wikohika, Emma Burnard.  Front Row L-R Matty Smith, Jayden Bailey, Maraea Buckingham, Brooke Graham, Libby Graham, Grace Burnard.

Ruapehu College Team 2021.jpg

Francis Douglas Memorial College

Team consisted of Braith Kalin, Ben Hooker, Matthew O'Rorke, Bradley Hopkins, Sammy Lewis, coaches Tamsyn Leevey, Melville Holmes and Pete Arnott.  The team played extremely well with some top wins throughout the competition and finished up 12th overall.  Special mention to Sammy Lewis who was awarded the Fair Play Award for boys.



A NZ Senior and Junior Boys and Girls Team was selected at the end of the tournament to normally travel to Australia for the Trans Tasman clash.  Unfortunately this year the Trans Tasman is looking very unlikely. Despite COVID probably stopping the Tasman clash this doesn't take away from the awesome achievement of being selected to represent NZ, so a huge congratulations goes to our 3 Central players who are all from Taranaki.  The NZ teams are as follows:

Senior Boys
Apa Fatialofa (captain) - Auckland Grammar School
Joseph Smythe - Tauranga Boys College
Tarin Love - Mt Albert Grammar School
Tom Marshall - Marlborough Boys College
Luke Steyn - Taupo Nui-a-tia
Braedyn Henderson - Matamata College
Senior Girls
Jena Gregory (captain) - Havelock North High School
Sophie Hodges - Hamilton Girls High School
Anne Leakey - Orewa College
Katie Templeton - Katikati College
Abbie Holmes - Sacred Heart College New Plymouth
Kiera Thompson - Havelock North High School
Junior Boys
Jack Frisken - Marlborough Boys College
Reece Holmes - Hawera High School
Riley McCracken - Mt Albert Grammar School
Cassius Leevey - Francis Douglas Memorial College
Finn Goodsen - Auckland Grammar School
Josh Laing - Whangarei Boys High School
Junior Girls
Mackenzie Tait - Wairarapa College
Ella Hill - Tauranga Girls College
Erin Wyllie - Otumoetai College
Justine Pausch - Takapuna Grammar School
Lucy Cadness-Aspinall - Westlake Girls High School
Aishah Lotfy - Westlake Girls High School
Pictured below Ruapehu boys College 

Boys Plate Winners 2021.jpg